Mobile version


Did you know that Judaism recognizes that Righteous Gentiles receive a place in the World to Come?

Unlike other religions, Judaism doesn't condemn you to hell if you don't convert. Many people are just unaware that Judaism is a religion of dual covenants, one for Jews and another for Gentiles. According to Jewish teaching, the Torah of Moses contains a covenant (given at Mt Sinai) binding on the Jewish people consisting of 613 commandments, and another known as the ‘Covenant of Noah’ consisting of seven commandments which is binding on all the peoples of the world who are not Jewish.

Most people have heard of the so-called ‘Ten Commandments’, but what they don't know is that 'Ten Commandments' is a mistranslation. In the original Hebrew, ‘Aseret HaDibrot' correctly translates as ‘Ten Statements’. The ten statements that Moses brought down from Mount Sinai carved in two stone tablets, are a summary of the 613 commandments.

The prophet Isaiah foretold that the Jewish people are to be “a light unto the nations” (Isaiah 42:6, 49:6), and as part of fulfilling this task they have preserved in the Babylonian Talmud (Sanhedrin 56a - 60b) the universal code of seven Noachide commandments, which is a basic program of ethical monotheism. This is the basis of civilization, for “He did not create it as a wasteland, but formed it to be inhabited.” (Isaiah 45:18).

People who observe the seven commandments of the biblical Covenant of Noah are considered by Orthodox Rabbis to be ‘Righteous Gentiles’ and are known as Noachides or Bnai Noach in Hebrew, both these terms mean ‘descendants of Noah.’

“So that all the nations of the earth shall know the Lord is G-d; there is none else. Let your heart therefore be whole with the Lord our G-d, to follow His statutes and to keep His commandments, as of this day.” (I Kings 8:60-61).

The seven commandments are:

  1. Believe and trust in G-d - Do not worship idols.
  2. Respect and praise G-d - Do not blaspheme.
  3. Respect the sanctity of human life - Do not murder, assault or slander.
  4. Respect family values - Do not have illicit sexual relations.
  5. Respect the rights and property of others - Do not steal.
  6. Respect the rights of animals - Do not eat flesh from a live animal.
  7. Responsibility for society - Establish a system of Justice.

Find out more at our full site:

Full Site